Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 9.37.18 PM.png


The Living Collection

"The living collection" is a phrase that was once used to describe the zoos, botanical gardens, and museums of the city. These places, made of tiny creatures and organisms, have inspired a sense of wonder and deep mystery in the way they collectively function to create a balanced ecosystem. The Living Collection aims to build an ecosystem of its own—one in which each member activates compositional material, learns to find a center within multiple relationships, and creates new forms and cycles as it unfolds.

David Leon, alto saxophone/flute Yuma Uesaka, tenor saxophone/clarinet
Kalun Leung, trombone
Sonya Belaya, piano
Florian Herzog, bass
Lesley Mok, drums/compositions


Feral Children

Along with Noah Becker on alto saxophone & clarinet and Nick Dunston on bass, Lesley co-leads Feral Children. Playing exclusively original music by all members of the trio, Feral Children explores playful counterpoint and role-obscuring orchestration, always diving further into its roots of jazz and freely improvised music. Gestures originate from both body and mind as they navigate the music by a logic of their own collective design, breathing as one three-headed beast, balancing and re-balancing from within to project a wild sense of outward unity.